## Michael Buchanan Fairbanks Memorial Award Competitor of the Year

The first award the Indianapolis Region ever presented was the High Point Award, which went to the driver scoring the most points in all of the Indy Region's events. It was first presented in 1952 to Bob Magenheimer, driving a 1948 MG TC that is now owned by Indy Region member and National SCCA Club Historian Peter Hylton. Bob repeated the feat and won the award again in 1953. Then in 1954, Mrs. Joseph Daniels donated a large silver plate to the region as the Michael Buchanan Fairbanks Award. It was named after her son, who had died in a car crash while attending Depauw University. As a matter of interest, Michael happened to be the grandson of Charles W. Fairbanks, Vice President of the United States under Teddy Roosevelt from 1905 to 1909. The new Fairbanks Award replaced the High Point Award, and continued to be given to the top competitor across all forms of competition in the Indy Region. As the club evolved into having more and more events, this interpretation evolved such that the award was given to the top competitor who competed in all forms of competition. This is a subtle distinction, but an important one. Originally it did not matter what events you competed in, you scored points in any event you ran, and they counted toward the award. In the later interpretation, you HAD to compete in all forms of competition. This is the reason that in the seventies the Fairbanks Award was not always presented. Unless someone scored points in all three disciplines of Racing, Rally, and Solo, they were not eligible to win the award. In 1982, after the Fairbanks Award had sat in a closet for 4 of the 6 previous years, the Indy Region Board of Directors created a new Competitor of the Year Award, using essentially the rules we have today. However, a number of long time members objected to eliminating the Fairbanks Award, so the original plate was brought back, mounted on the base we have today, and the name of the award was officially changed to the Michael Buchanan Fairbanks Memorial Competitor of the Year Award.

## Michael Buchanan Fairbanks Memorial Award Competitor of the Year

1954	Bob Magenheimer	1974	Keith Hess	1994	Mark Badgley
1955	Bob Magenheimer	1975	Keith Hess	1995	Not Awarded
1956	Luke Stear	1976	Not Awarded	1996	Sam Crites
1957	Chuck Rickert	1977	Jud Jaqua	1997	Dave Hart
1958	Bob Clifford	1978	Not Awarded	1998	Dave Daughtery
1959	Mike Norris & Phil Vickery	1979	Chuck Hanson	1998	Dave Hart
1960	Mert Jaggar	1980	Not Awarded	1999	Matt Curry
1961	A.J. Werner	1981	Not Awarded	2000	Dave Hart
1962	Gerry Mason	1982	Pete Hylton	2001	Matt Curry
1963	Mike Robbins	1983	Cindy Hylton	2002	Shane Benson
1964	Dave Causey	1984	Cindy Hylton	2003	Chad Stringer
1965	Harvey Hess	1985	John Scherer	2004	Bill Partridge
1966	Jack Hurt and Mike Robbins	1986	Glenn Davis Jr.	2005	Steve Linn
1967	Harvey Hess	1987	Roger Baker	2006	Steve Linn
1968	Mike Robbins	1988	Frank Pope	2007	Riley Dill
1969	Mike Robbins	1989	Pete Hylton	2008	Ted Drummond
1970	Mike Robbins	1990	Pete Hylton	2009	Ted Drummond
1971	Mike Robbins	1991	Mark Badgley		
1972	Will Zobbe	1992	Pete Hylton		
1973	Vic Drummond	1993	Cindy Hylton		